top of page
OTHMANE OUALLAL 
& ANNA RINZO

 
Ikoyi Island, 2022
Delphine Denereaz

Metal and weaving, laser cutting and weaving
30x40cm

The pair Othmane Ouallal & Anna Rinzo are the winner of our pilot residency Passages in Marrakech, in collaboration with the MACAAL.

Between carpet weaving and rock carvings, two monuments to the memory of the Moroccan territory, they will seek how to testify, document and archive these practices by addressing the questions of their extinction, archiving and transmission. Through a collaboration with a craft in Morocco, the pair will respond to us with the production of a textile work.

I am a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. It's easy.

Typologie

Résidence de production

I am a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. It's easy.

Durée

4 semaines

I am a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. It's easy.

Destination

Marrakesh

AAF Presentation

 

Co-production

MACAAL
FI Morocco

"Rock engravings in Morocco represent an invaluable, but threatened heritage treasure. Located in the open air, they are subject to the vagaries of the climate. Without protection, they are trampled by livestock and by walkers. Coveted by collectors, they are subject to theft and destruction, and often exported.

Similarly, weaving is a fundamental craft of traditional Amazigh cultures. Carpet weaving is a language, guaranteeing the continuity and transmission of culture. Many factors are responsible for its disappearance and deformation. Nevertheless, it continues to pass through time.


On March 10, 2023, we met at the Kafila (residence organized by the IFM and Désert et Montagne). We leave for the desert with many questions about collective memory and our identities. As the days go by, we weave links between our practices and our artistic questions. As we climb a mountain we imagine a possible collaboration.

In May 2023, we meet in Marrakech to develop this project. Anna joins “Tifawin Rug” a carpet weaver cooperative in the Atlas, where she begins to learn traditional Azilal weaving with the help of Fatiha Ait Ouagadir, Zineb Achoubie and several women weavers.

 

This residency will be an opportunity for us to continue and develop this collaboration through practice.

Our project is the realization of a monumental weaving, in which we wish to represent rock engravings. The residence will be entirely dedicated to the conceptualization of this project. Two main axes will emerge, research and formalization.

 

We will take advantage of our collaboration with a weaver to research all the technical and anthropological aspects of this project. Thus we will experiment with several weaving techniques (boucherouite, azilal, kilim), several textile materials (vegetable / animal). We will also report on the rock motifs that we will choose to represent, their provenance (which site), and how to transcribe them in the weave (weave / print / paint / dye).


In a second stage of creation, we will work on the shape of our project by choosing the density of weaving, the colors, the dimensions and the composition of it, in order to present a precise idea of what the piece will look like once carried out. "
 

"Rock engravings in Morocco represent an invaluable, but threatened heritage treasure. Located in the open air, they are subject to the vagaries of the climate. Without protection, they are trampled by livestock and by walkers. Coveted by collectors, they are subject to theft and destruction, and often exported.

Similarly, weaving is a fundamental craft of traditional Amazigh cultures. Carpet weaving is a language, guaranteeing the continuity and transmission of culture. Many factors are responsible for its disappearance and deformation. Nevertheless, it continues to pass through time.


On March 10, 2023, we met at the Kafila (residence organized by the IFM and Désert et Montagne). We leave for the desert with many questions about collective memory and our identities. As the days go by, we weave links between our practices and our artistic questions. As we climb a mountain we imagine a possible collaboration.

In May 2023, we meet in Marrakech to develop this project. Anna joins “Tifawin Rug” a carpet weaver cooperative in the Atlas, where she begins to learn traditional Azilal weaving with the help of Fatiha Ait Ouagadir, Zineb Achoubie and several women weavers.

 

This residency will be an opportunity for us to continue and develop this collaboration through practice.

Our project is the realization of a monumental weaving, in which we wish to represent rock engravings. The residence will be entirely dedicated to the conceptualization of this project. Two main axes will emerge, research and formalization.

 

We will take advantage of our collaboration with a weaver to research all the technical and anthropological aspects of this project. Thus we will experiment with several weaving techniques (boucherouite, azilal, kilim), several textile materials (vegetable / animal). We will also report on the rock motifs that we will choose to represent, their provenance (which site), and how to transcribe them in the weave (weave / print / paint / dye).


In a second stage of creation, we will work on the shape of our project by choosing the density of weaving, the colors, the dimensions and the composition of it, in order to present a precise idea of what the piece will look like once carried out. "
 

© Making of : Salah Charef, Nezha Haddioui,
Ayoub El bardii, Anna Rinzo, Othmane Ouallal
  • Instagram
  • Instagram

in partnership with 

Gravure Repustre,  Le style de l’EC se caractérise par la simplicité di trait_edited.jpg
"Carpet weaving is a language, guaranteeing the continuity and transmission of culture.
Many factors are responsible for its disappearance and deformation. Nevertheless, it continues to pass through time.
»
Logo-Macaal-Africa-1.png

MACAAL

The Museum of Contemporary African Art Al Maaden (MACAAL) in Marrakech is an independent, non-profit museum of contemporary art. One of the first of its kind on the continent, MACAAL is dedicated to the promotion of African art through the various educational programs and exhibitions it offers and which allow it to cultivate the interest of large public. Through the acquisition and exhibition of works by both established and emerging artists, the museum promotes understanding of contemporary African art and showcases the creative energy and cultural diversity characteristic of the continent.

French_Institute_of_Morocco.png

The French Institute in Morocco 

Cultural cooperation between France and Morocco is dynamic and is part of a process of support and professionalization of contemporary artistic creation in Morocco.

bottom of page

top of page
OTHMANE OUALLAL 
& ANNA RINZO

 
Ikoyi Island, 2022
Delphine Denereaz

Métal et tissage, découpe laser et tissage de lirette
30 x 40 cm

Le binôme Othmane Ouallal & Anna Rinzo est lauréat de notre résidence pilote Passages à Marrakech, programme imaginé en collaboration avec le MACAAL.

Entre le tissage de tapis et les gravures rupestres, deux monuments de la mémoire du territoire marocain, ils témoignent, documentent et archivent ces pratiques en abordant les questions de leur extinction, archivage et transmission. Avec la collaboration deux expertes en tissage au Maroc, le binôme a réalisé une œuvre textile.

Je suis un paragraphe. Cliquez ici pour ajouter votre propre texte et me modifier. C'est facile.

Typologie

Résidence de production

Je suis un paragraphe. Cliquez ici pour ajouter votre propre texte et me modifier. C'est facile.

Durée

4 semaines

Je suis un paragraphe. Cliquez ici pour ajouter votre propre texte et me modifier. C'est facile.

Destination

Marrakech

Présentation AAF

 

Co-production

MACAAL
IF Maroc

" Les gravures rupestres au Maroc représentent un trésor patrimonial inestimable, mais menacé. Situées en plein air, elles subissent les aléas du climat. Sans protection, elles sont piétinées par les animaux d’élevage et par les promeneurs. Convoitées par les collectionneurs, elles sont l’objet de vols et de destructions, et souvent exportées.

De la même façon, le tissage est un artisanat fondamental des cultures traditionnelles Amazigh. Le tissage de tapis, est un langage, garant de la continuité et de la transmission de la culture. De nombreux facteurs sont responsables de sa disparition et sa déformation. Néanmoins, il continue de traverser le temps.


Le 10 mars 2023, nous nous rencontrons au sein de la Kafila (résidence organisée par l’IFM et Désert et Montagne). Nous partons dans le désert avec beaucoup de question sur la mémoire collective et sur nos identités. Au fur et à mesure des jours, nous tissons des liens entre nos pratiques et nos questionnements artistiques. Alors que nous escaladons une montagne nous imaginons une collaboration possible.

En mai 2023, nous nous retrouvons à Marrakech pour développer ce projet. Anna rejoint « Tifawin Rug » une coopérative de tisserande de tapis dans l’Atlas, ou elle commence à apprendre le tissage traditionnel Azilal avec l’aide de Fatiha Ait Ouagadir, Zineb Achoubie et de plusieurs femmes tisserandes."
 

« Traces - Adriz - ⴰⴷⵔⵉⵣ » est né de la rencontre de Othmane Ouallal et Anna Rinzo, deux artistes travaillant la question de la mémoire.  

Othmane Ouallal archive le patrimoine marocain, notamment au travers de la collecte, de l’étude et de la documentation de ses gravures rupestres.

Anna Rinzo s’intéresse à la mémoire cellulaire et l’épigénétique. Elle utilise le tissage à la main et l’apprentissage de technique traditionnelle comme un outil de narration génomique des contextes dans lesquels elle s’immerge.

 

Tous deux lauréats de la résidence “Passages”, co-organisée par Versant sud, Le MACAAL et l’Institut français du Maroc, Anna Rinzo et Othmane Ouallal se retrouvent à Marrakech en juillet 2023, avec le projet de faire dialoguer leurs questionnements artistiques.  

 

Othmane Ouallal plonge dans ses archives et en extrait une gravure rupestre du site d’Aït Ouazik.

Ensemble, les artistes en choisissent un fragment.

Le dessin retenu sera volontairement non figuratif. Son abstraction, comme un point d’interrogation, permet aux artistes de poser immédiatement la question de son origine.

Anna Rinzo et Othmane Ouallal ont rencontrés les “Mamans doués” de la fondation Dar Bellarj à Marrakech, Lalla Zhara Belbyad et Lalla Khadija Karbah, afin d’apprendre la technique du Zarbia (points noués, ugda; point toile, jeraï) qui intégrera ainsi le tissage final. 

Cette technique traditionnelle remonte à l'âge paléolithique, dont Lalla Zhara Belbyad est une experte. Anna Rinzo a ainsi interprété le fragment choisi de gravure rupestre à l’aide de ces gestes paléolithiques. La laine et les couleurs utilisées sont naturelles et font écho à la terre rouge, aux pierres grises et aux paysages ocre du territoire originel Marocain, dont sont issus les fragments de gravure rupestre et le zarbia. 

« Traces - Adriz - ⴰⴷⵔⵉⵣ » est un dialogue entre deux mémoires d’origine préhistoriques, deux mémoires menacées mais toujours vivantes. Ensemble, artistes et artisans prennent la mesure de leur responsabilité face à cet héritage précieux et interrogent le rôle de l’artiste dans sa transmission.

© Making of : Salah Charef, Nezha Haddioui,
Ayoub El bardii, Anna Rinzo, Othmane Ouallal
  • Instagram
  • Instagram

en partenariat avec 

Gravure Repustre,  Le style de l’EC se caractérise par la simplicité di trait_edited.jpg
«Le tissage de tapis, est un langage, garant de la continuité et de la transmission de la culture.
De nombreux facteurs sont responsables de sa disparition et sa déformation. Néanmoins, il continue de traverser le temps.
»
Logo-Macaal-Afrique-1.png

Le MACAAL

Le Musée d’Art Contemporain Africain Al Maaden (MACAAL) de Marrakech est un musée d’art contemporain indépendant à but non lucratif. L’un des premiers du genre sur le continent, le MACAAL est dédié à la promotion de l’art africain à travers les différents programmes d’éducation et d’expositions qu’il propose et qui lui permettent de cultiver l’intérêt de larges publics. A travers l’acquisition et l’exposition des œuvres d’artistes autant établis qu’émergents, le musée favorise la compréhension de l’art contemporain africain et donne à voir l’énergie créatrice et la diversité culturelle caractéristiques du continent.

Institut_français_du_Maroc.png

L'Institut Français au Maroc 

La coopération culturelle entre la France et le Maroc est dynamique et s’inscrit dans un processus d’accompagnement et de professionnalisation de la création artistique contemporaine au Maroc.

bottom of page