top of page
PAUL YAKUBU

Umbrella stall, Prototype, 2023
Paul Yakubu

3D Plans
small scale umbrella.26.jpg

Laureate of the Passages residence, Paul Yakubu is an architect and designer. He works to develop artistic projects that use waste to create furniture, products and architecture.

In Marseille, he will design a prototype of a mobile grocery store kit. The device is inspired by the architecture of parasols used in Lagos, Nigeria, to design a stall/boutique that would integrate into its environment.

The umbrella is architecture

Je suis un paragraphe. Cliquez ici pour ajouter votre propre texte et me modifier. C'est facile.

Typology

Production Residency

Je suis un paragraphe. Cliquez ici pour ajouter votre propre texte et me modifier. C'est facile.

Duration

8 weeks

Je suis un paragraphe. Cliquez ici pour ajouter votre propre texte et me modifier. C'est facile.

Destination

Marseille

Présentation AAF

 

Co-production

Institut Français du Nigéria, Ambassade de France au Nigéria, AWCA, Alliance Française, La Citadelle de Marseille, 16/16, Le Géant des Beaux-arts, Ateliers SudSide

“ I am an architectural designer with a degree in architecture from Covenant University, Nigeria, and a master's degree from the Architectural Association, London. Throughout my young career, I have explored the development of space through various mediums including furniture, pavilions, stages, buildings and urban design. During my three years working in a Lagos-based firm, I became familiar with the vast informal architecture in documenting the elements people use every day to create their own spaces. ”

 

“The Umbrella Stall proposal offers a new perspective on the importance of informal architecture in the development of countries. When moving around Lagos, it's hard not to notice the many informal structures that serve as shops, restaurants, and markets. These structures are found throughout the city and play an important role in its visual language. This project aims to examine the positive contributions and challenges presented by these informal shelters. " ​ ​

 

Objectives :

 

1. Develop the Umbrella concept into a kit of buildable and adaptable parts that can be easily assembled and disassembled.

 

2. Build prototypes of the umbrella stand at different scales, including human scale, to examine how people interact. act with architecture.

  • Instagram

in partnership with 

logo ambassade n&b.jpg
ifn.jpg

Embassy of France in Nigeria (SCAC)

The Cooperation and Cultural Action Service (SCAC) is the service of the French Embassy which ensures the definition and monitoring of France's cooperation with Nigeria in the cultural, educational, academic and scientific fields.

French Institute in Nigeria

The French Institute in Nigeria works for exchanges and cultural cooperation between France and Nigeria, by encouraging debates of ideas and sharing of knowledge between the two countries, across all creative fields.

awca b&w.jpg

A White Space Creative Agency

A Whitespace Creative Agency is an agency based in Lagos, Nigeria. Founded in 2014, the agency was created to find and support young image makers creating and producing strong and dynamic visual content that resonates both locally and internationally.

Capture d’écran 2023-10-31 à 10.48.08.png

“ When moving around Lagos, it is hard not to notice the many informal structures that serve as shops, restaurants, and markets. These structures are found throughout the city and play an important role in its visual language. This project aims to examine the positive contributions and challenges presented by these informal shelters. "

af copy.jpg

Alliance Française de Lagos

The Alliance Française de Lagos is a Nigerian non-profit institution dedicated to the promotion of the French language and francophone cultures, and to the promotion of cultural diversity.

download (1).png

The Citadel of Marseille 

Located in the heart of Marseille, Fort d'Entrecasteaux, also known as "Fort Saint-Nicolas", will gradually open its doors to the public from spring 2024. The Citadel of Marseille, is carrying out its opening project as well as the restoration of the place, classified as a historic monument since 1969.

Logo 16_16.png

16x16

16x16 is a private hybrid place in Lagos where the general public and a place of creation intertwine: artisan, design and contemporary art. 16x16, also carries Hfactor, an artistic federation which launched a digital radio.

Screen Shot 2023-11-29 at 13.17.08.png

Sud Side

The Sud Side workshops combine craftsmanship, know-how and creation. The technicians who work there design  and produce objects dedicated to the cultural world, works of art, show machines and unique mechanics in 1900m² of colorful garage atmosphere.

bottom of page

top of page
PAUL YAKUBU

 
Umbrella stall, Prototype, 2023
Paul Yakubu

Plans 3D
small scale umbrella.26.jpg

Lauréat de  la résidence Passages, Paul Yakubu est architecte designer.

Il travaille au développement de projets artistiques qui utilisent des déchets pour créer des meubles, des produits et des architectures. 

À Marseille, il conçoit le prototype d'un kit d'une épicerie mobile. Le dispositif s'inspire de l'architecture des parasols utilisés à Lagos, au Nigeria, pour concevoir une échoppe/boutique qui s’intègrerait à son environnement.

Umbrella Stall Prototype

Je suis un paragraphe. Cliquez ici pour ajouter votre propre texte et me modifier. C'est facile.

Typologie

Résidence de production

Je suis un paragraphe. Cliquez ici pour ajouter votre propre texte et me modifier. C'est facile.

Durée

8 semaines

Je suis un paragraphe. Cliquez ici pour ajouter votre propre texte et me modifier. C'est facile.

Destination

Marseille

Présentation AAF

 

Co-production

Institut Français du Nigéria, Ambassade de France au Nigéria, AWCA, Alliance Française, La Citadelle de Marseille, 16/16

" Je suis designer en architecture avec un diplôme en architecture de l’Université Covenant, au Nigeria, et titulaire d’un master de l’Architectural Association, à Londres. Tout au long de ma jeune carrière, j’ai exploré le développement de l’espace à travers divers médiums, notamment le mobilier, les pavillons, les scènes, les bâtiments et le design urbain. Au cours des mes trois années de travail dans une entreprise basée à Lagos, je me suis familiarisé avec la vaste architecture informelle en documentant les éléments utilisés par les gens au quotidien pour créer leurs propres espaces. "

La proposition Umbrella Stall offre une nouvelle perspective sur l’importance de l’architecture informelle dans le développement des pays. Grâce à la construction d'un prototype à échelle humaine, la proposition vise à améliorer les stands-parasols existant à Lagos. Le dispositif s'inspire de l'architecture des parasols utilisés à Lagos, au Nigeria, pour concevoir une échoppe/boutique qui s’intègrerait à son environnement.

Objectifs :

1. Développer le concept Umbrella en un kit de pièces constructibles et adaptables qui peuvent être facilement assemblées et démonté.

2. Construire des prototypes du stand de parapluies à différentes échelles, y compris à l'échelle humaine, pour examiner comment les gens interagissent avec l’architecture.

  • Instagram

en partenariat avec 

logo ambassade n&b.jpg

Ambassade de France au Nigéria (SCAC)

Le Service de Coopération et d’Action Culturelle (SCAC) est le service de l’Ambassade de France qui assure la définition et le suivi de la coopération de la France avec le Nigéria dans les domaines culturels, éducatifs, universitaires et scientifiques.

Capture d’écran 2023-10-31 à 10.48.08.png

" En se déplaçant à Lagos, il est difficile de ne pas remarquer les nombreuses structures informelles qui servent de magasins, de restaurants, et de marchés. Ces structures se retrouvent partout dans la ville et jouent un rôle important dans son langage visuel.

Ce projet vise à examiner les contributions positives et les défis présentés par ces refuges informels."

ifn.jpg

Institut Français au Nigéria

L'Institut Français au Nigéria œuvre pour les échanges et la coopération culturelle entre la France et le Nigéria, en encourageant débats d’idées et partage de connaissances entre les deux pays, à travers tous les domaines de création.

awca b&w.jpg

A White Space Creative Agency

A Whitespace Creative Agency est une agence basée à Lagos, au Nigeria. Fondée en 2014, l'agence a été créée pour trouver et accompagner de jeunes créateurs d'images créant et produisant des contenus visuels forts et dynamiques qui résonnent tant au niveau local qu'international.

af copy.jpg

Alliance Française de Lagos

L'Alliance Française de Lagos est une institution nigériane à but non lucratif dédiée à la promotion de la langue française et des cultures francophones, et à la promotion de la diversité culturelle.

download (1).png

La Citadelle de Marseille 

Situé en plein cœur de Marseille, le Fort d‘Entrecasteaux, aussi connu sous le nom du « Fort Saint-Nicolas », ouvrira ses portes progressivement au public à partir du printemps 2024. La Citadelle de Marseille, porte son projet d’ouverture ainsi que la restauration du lieu, classé monument historique depuis 1969.

Screen Shot 2023-11-29 at 13.17.08.png

Sud Side

Les ateliers Sud Side mêlent artisanat, savoir-faire et création. Les techniciens qui y travaillent, conçoivent  et produisent des objets dédiés au monde culturel, des œuvres d'art, des machines de spectacle et des mécaniques uniques dans 1900m² d'ambiance garage et colorée.

bottom of page